2*Jan 31

Friday, January 31 || 7:30 PM
Wertheim Performing Arts Center Concert Hall

An evening of new music for orchestra and chamber ensembles
featuring conductor composer Krzesimir Debski with the FIU Symphony Orchestra and the NODUS Ensemble

Concert Program
Singing Sweetly from a Spider’s Web* | Rick Snow
Bajo el hechizo* | Federico Garcia
String Quartet #3 | Fredrick Kaufman
Collage 3* | Juan Vasquez
Paisaje del sonido II | Orlando Jacinto Garcia
lullaby | Paula Matthusen
New work for Orchestra | Krzesimir Debski

*ISCM Call for Scores selected work

drebski2Featured performer:
Krzesimir Dębski studied composition with Andrzej Koszewski, and conducting with Witold Krzemieński, at the Paderewski Academy of Music in Poznań, Poland. Following graduation, Dębski became interested in jazz. Since 1982, as the leader and violinist of the jazz group String Connection, he has performed in the United States, Canada and over 25 countries in Europe. Krzesimir Dębski has been awarded numerous prizes for his jazz musicianship and composition work. The prizes include a.o.: First Prize at the World Competition of Jazz Ensembles (Belgium), and the Stanislaw Wyspiański Award from The Ministry of Culture (Warsaw, Poland). Readers of the monthly jazz magazine “Jazz Forum” have bestowed upon Dębski the honor of “Musician, Composer and Violinist Of The Year” from 1983 to 1986. “Down Beat” magazine rated Krzesimir Dębski among the top ten violinists in the world.


A sample text widget

Etiam pulvinar consectetur dolor sed malesuada. Ut convallis euismod dolor nec pretium. Nunc ut tristique massa.

Nam sodales mi vitae dolor ullamcorper et vulputate enim accumsan. Morbi orci magna, tincidunt vitae molestie nec, molestie at mi. Nulla nulla lorem, suscipit in posuere in, interdum non magna.